Which Drone for footage over the sea? Expensive vs. cheap? And how to make it float?

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by Ashanti, May 8, 2015.

1. Ashanti

Ashanti New Member

Dear all,

I will be filming a documentary about some fishermen this summer, and so will be doing some aerial HD filming with a drone. However, given that I have no experience flying drones, and that the seas might be rough and windy, plus it will be at an isolated island, I am not sure whether I should invest in a good drone, or many cheaper drones.

Chances are that it will most likely crash, and therefore I won't have a chance to purchase a new one due to the location, I am considering getting a couple of cheaper ones so I have reserves.

It seems that there are barely any mid-range-budget drones, but only cheap ones, then expensive ones, then very very expensive ones. From my research, the best budget drone is one of the Syma models, for ca. 35 GBP, while the better expensive is DJI Phantom 1 for 350 GBP. So, as you can see, I can get 10x Syma's for the same price, and still crash a bunch of them in the ocean.

The filming should be in full HD 1028x30 or have the possibility to attach a gopro/sj4000 etc. With this in mind, are there any drones you would recommend in the various price ranges? Is my research correct to say that the best budget drone out there is the Syma, while the best expensive on is the DJI ? Do you know of any mid-range ones?

I was also hoping if some of you have some tips as to what I could do to twerk the drone so that it could float for a bit, if it is to crash in the water. What could be added that wouldn't add too much weight and ruin the flying?

Looking forward to reading the replies!

Cheers,

2. IceFyre13th

IceFyre13th Guest

There is one (actually two or three) for exactly what you describe.

http://www.quadh2o.com/

Order the kit, build it yourself. Either the Quad or the Hex would do (personally the Hex would be my choice)