What is the Best FPV Quad for Beginners?

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by D'MAN, Apr 13, 2014.

1. D'MAN

D'MAN New Member

Hello,

I am very new to quadcopters, but I would like to start now. For my first quad I would like some sort of small FPV quad with a decent battery life and range. I would also like it to be durable because I know that I will crash a lot. Price is no obligation here. Do you have any recommendations?
    Thanks

2. D'MAN

D'MAN New Member

I would also like the quad to have good camera quality and a wide lens angle.

3. Akcobra

Akcobra Member

First off, I strongly suggest starting out with a small "toy grad" quad such as a Hubsan Quads so you can get a feel for flying them. Starting out totally green with a full sized quad will probably leave you grounded with your quad down for repairs a lot best case, and worst case you could hurt somebody if you put a quad in the air without at least some basic knowledge of how to fly it.

That being said, I'm going to have to make some assumptions here as you were not very specific on a few things. First off, I'm going to assume you get something RTF including a radio that you don't have to build. Also, you didn't say what you wanted the camera for, AP or FPV. I'll assume you're interested more in AV for now. Lastly, you didn't specify what you consider to be "decent range". I'll assume 1000' or so would cover it.

With those assumptions, and if price is no object, you are probably talking about a Phantom Vision. It's got an integrated video system which transmits video back to your iphone or Android device, it's got a 20+ minute flight time, and I think the effective video range is about 1000'. It's probably not the greatest on the durability/repairability front though since it's got a plastic unibody design and a good crash may break it and could require replacing the body.