What drone to buy for HD VIDEO recording?

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by vault214, Jun 13, 2014.

1. vault214

vault214 New Member

I'm in the middle of deciding if I should buy the Phantom2 Vision plus or the Phantom2 w/ 3d gimbal for the GoPro. or the Blade 350 QX2......or if there are any better ones?

I want to shoot with the highest possible video using an action camera. like 60p... so i guess the go pro....
    but...im a newbie to buying this stuff and i dont currently own a go pro.

anyways my question is this.
    what drone would be best to get considering all factors?
    -HD VIDEO
    -STABLE
    -remotely easy to install/put separate pieces together (i.e. a beginners intelligence to put together)
    -FPV possibility
    -hopefully not easiest to crash
    -can go pretty high and pretty far

Thank you all for your responses. I really need some good suggestions and I appreciate it.

2. webman

webman Administrator Staff Member

IMHO, the Vision 2 Plus satisfies your criteria the best - it is designed from the ground up as a photography and video platform and you don't have to put any pieces together. It included FPV. It is very stable and can go very far and high.

Anything else requires at least some technical knowledge. The advantage of something like the Phantom 2 (w/o the cameras) is that you can use various cams. The disadvantage is that it's much harder to put together the whole system and get it working perfectly with FPV, etc.

Personally I may buy a Phantom 2 at some point - because I like lifting still cameras as well as video. But, as I said, that will require a lot more time and fiddling around to get things all tied in.

The Vision 2+ is actually reasonably priced when you consider all that it has. Also, they are just now releasing the "Mission Planner" for it, which allows it to fly a mission by itself using waypoints you put in on a GPS map screen.