Syma X5c-1 questions, from new guy to the hobby, please!

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by Exjumper, Nov 19, 2015.

1. Exjumper

Exjumper New Member

Hi everyone.

I am new to the hobby, new to the site. Retired Skydiver with 1800 jumps, and I think this is something I can really enjoy now.
    I bought 2 quads on Amazon. Cheerson CX 10 for indoor.
    Syma X5c-1 for the park right behind my condo!

The Cheerson has LED lights that make sense to me. RED (tailights as the vehicle is moving forward , away from me, just like most vehicles) and Blue (headlights) in the front.
    I just took the Syma out in the park, and the orientation seems backwards. There are Green LEDs in the rear, and Orange in the front. I found myself looking for the nose of the camera to orient to know that it was coming or going!
    I would like to have the Orange in the rear and the Green in front.
    Can they be changed?
    Any tips here are REALLY appreciated. I look forward to being a member of the community!

2. webman

webman Administrator Staff Member

That is the way more advanced aircraft (Phantom, Inspire, Bebop etc.) will be...
    Red in front seems to be the way it's done in this hobby (with some exceptions)....so maybe it's better to get used to it that way.

I know what you mean about being confused though!

I suspect you can change yours out if you feel like taking the quadcopter apart though.

3. Exjumper

Exjumper New Member

4. Exjumper

Exjumper New Member

Thank you for the reply! I was (about to think this was an unfriendly forum!) as I noticed that alot of posts , including mine, have remained with 0 replies?
    If that orientation is STANDARD, it really does leave me to believe that this hobby is truly in its infancy!
    Seriously, when a vehicle is facing AWAY from the driver, what do you see? RED...TAILIGHTS!!!!
    I am by no means an expert. but this seems completely ass backwards!