Photographer Wanting to Fly

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by RockyRoads, Aug 3, 2014.

1. RockyRoads

RockyRoads New Member

I am a 60-something newbie who has never operated anything remote control. My real interest is photography, 100% outdoors, mostly landscape type stuff. Still photos are my first priority, video second. Ultimately I would like to produce images of good quality to support writing and blogging activities. (Some of my interests might be considered commercial by the FAA, but I guess I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.)

I have read all the beginner information, including the e-book, and have a pretty good idea what I need to do, but I'd still like to hear people's opinions about what unit I should start with and what steps I should progress through to get where I want to be. I'm thinking that after I learn what I'm doing the DJI Phantom would be the end goal, but again, I'd like to hear your opinions. Thanks a bunch for your help!

2. webman

webman Administrator Staff Member

Everyone has their own opinions - but mine...for still photography on a budget, would probably be the stock DJI Phantom or the FC40 - which you would remove the camera from after a while.

You should, of course, learn to fly a bit on a toy quadcopter...just to assure that you have it all under control.

My stock P1 with a Canon S100 (or similar) camera can take nice stills. You have to work a bit on the settings of the cam and the mounting. But, in the end, you are getting a full package for about $650-$700 which will take some great landscapes.

You can also take RAW with the Canons.

Of course, you could spend a lot more and get more - and the above advice only applies if you are not flying very far or long - say for photos from under 400 feet high (battery with heavy payload will not last very long)...