Photographer Looking to get into the air.

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by Mo M., Nov 12, 2015.

1. Mo M.

Mo M. New Member

I have been an advanced photographer in the past and am getting back into it. The versatility I'm seeing in this drone age are amazing! So I'm hitting the market for one.
    I have a go pro so I'm assuming that mounting what I already have would be my best economical option.

Can I build a drone and just add a mount to it? Can these mounts rotate while in flight?
    Im looking at long flight times for something that can follow an 18wheeler at medium speeds, am I reaching for the stars?
    A range of 2,500ft+ would be ideal. I don't see a point (for me) to fly something so far away I can't see it or it ends up colliding with manned craft.
    There is a lot of marketing for control by smartphone- is there a noticeable delay or has technology caught up?
    What kind of feedback can a drone provide? or, how are people maintaining good composition?

Im sure I have 100 other questions before I'm ready to buy one but that covers my main thoughts and curiosities.
    Note* Im willing to spend on a quality and user friendly product. Would rather spend $500 once and build from there than spend $100 8 times as I realize cheap isn't working for me.

Ive never needed to look into these so any and all help is appreciated!

2. Joe grodis

Joe grodis New Member

If you're mechanically inclined by all means build!!! If $500 is your budget I'd go for a 600mm size drone (carbon fiber frame) be sure your frame comes with adequate landing gear height so your camera can fit underneath. If you want to steer your camera in flight you'll need a camera gimbal (Ebay) The whole project will take time and some home work, but it isn't hard. With good motors, ESC's, and dual batteries you should be able to get pretty darn good speed.