Buying a new quad, need advice :)

Discussion in 'Misc. Quadcopter & Multirotor discussions' started by sebatasa, Jan 18, 2016.

1. sebatasa

sebatasa New Member

Hello everyone,

this is my first time posting on a forum related to quads, so please bare that in mind :)

I currently own a Syma X5C, which i picked up for 60$ as i wanted to try drone flying for a while and i enjoyed it immensly, so now i want to buy something more "serious" in the price range of 150-250$.

What are good drones for "advanced begginers" ?

I would prefer one that comes with a controller, since i heared smartphone controls are not as good? also i would like one that is capable of first person view.

I would be really grateful for any input :)

2. dronester

dronester New Member

just depends on what you want to do with it. if you want to do aerial photography youll want a larger 450mm frame quad. If you are into the new-thing "racing" youll want a smaller 250 or 280mm frame.

3. webman

webman Administrator Staff Member

Don't go for smartphone controlled - that's good advice!

If you simply want to have a more powerful machine, consider various models such as the Eachine 250's, Falcon (also at Banggood), etc.

If you want to do real high quality video, then you need a stablized camera and will have to spend more.

So, as dronester noted, it's a question of where you want to go from here. Generally there are these different types of hobbyists.

1. DIY types - they care more about soldering and experimenting than actually flying
    2. FPV and fast flying - these machines are fast and can have cameras - but the cameras are more for first person view than for scenery.
    3. Aerial Photography and Video - these users enjoy getting a new perspective on the world - but the machines aren't designed for "fun" or just flying around for kicks. Check out our photo and video forum for some examples of what other pilots are doing.